Monday, November 08, 2004

Leave all kids behind, especially those with disabilities

Just got word that apparently it's BushCo's time to make huge changes in IDEA, the special ed bill. I'm not anywhere close to being an expert on IDEA so here's the alert.
PLEASE TAKE ACTION AND SPREAD THE WORD. Reauthorization of the basic federal special education law -- the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act -- is moving forward swiftly. Negotiations are occurring day and night, and the process may well be over within a week. Core aspects of IDEA are being seriously threatened for the first time since 1975. In light of the national election results, this is likely to be our LAST BEST CHANCE to preserve as many as possible of the protections which students with disabilities now have under federal law. Please cut and paste, personalize, and write and fax as many letters as you can. Make phone calls. E-mails are better than nothing, but are very easily deleted. For more information and action suggestions, go to or
What to do: contact the following and your Rep in DC.
Jeff Sessions (Prim Formby)
221-4124; 224-3149 (fax)
335 Russell

Christopher Dodd (Grace Reef)
224-2823; 228-1683 (fax)
448 Russell

Tom Harkin (Mary Giliberti)
224-3254; 224-9369 (fax)
731 Hart

Pat Roberts (Jennifer Swanson)
224-4774; 224-3514 (fax)
109 Hart

Barbara Mikulski (Rebecca Litt)
224-4654; 224-8858 (fax)
709 Hart

Edward Kennedy (Connie Garner)
224-6390; 224-5128 (fax)
644 Dirksen

Christopher Bond (Kara Vlasaty)
274 Russell

John Ensign (Lindsey Loveland)
224-6244; 224-2193 (fax)
364 Russell

Judd Gregg (Stephanie Monroe)
428 Dirksen

Jeff Bingaman (Michael Uyuden)
224-5521; 224-2852 (fax)
703 Hart

Hillary Clinton (Suzie Saavedra)
224-2923; 228-0282 (fax)
476 Russell

John Edwards (Sarah Pendergraft)
224-3154; 228-1374 (fax)
225 Dirksen

Mike DeWine (Mary Beth Luna)
224-2315; 224-6519 (fax)
140 Russell

Jack Reed (Elise Wasch)
224-4642; 224-4680 (fax)
728 Hart

Lindsey Graham (Laura Bauld)
290 Russell

Lamar Alexander (Kristin Benderman)
224-5800; 228-0412 (fax)
302 Hart

Bill Frist (Talivah Bayles)
224-3344; 228-1264 (fax)
461 Dirksen

James Jeffords (Sherry Kaiman)
413 Dirksen

John Warner (JK Robinson)
224-2023; 224-6295 (fax)
225 Russell

Patty Murray (Jamie Sasteau)
224-2621; 224-0238 (fax)
173 Russell

Michael Enzi (Scott Fleming)
224-3424; 228-0359 (fax)
379A Russell

John Boehner
225-6205; 25-0704 (fax)
1011 Longworth

Michael Castle
1233 Longworth

Vernon Ehlers
225-3831; 225-5144 (fax)
1714 Longworth

Ric Keller
225-2176; 225-0999 (fax)
419 Cannon

Joe Wilson
225-2452; 225-2455 (fax)
212 Cannon

George Miller
2205 Rayburn

Lynn Woolsey
225-5161; 225-5163 (fax)
2263 Rayburn

Major Owens
225-6231; 226-0112 (fax)
2309 Rayburn

Key legislators:

Via fax 202-228-4222 or 202-228-5044
The Honorable Judd Gregg
Chairman, Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510

Via fax 202-224-5128
The Honorable Edward M. Kennedy
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510

Via fax 202-226-1010
The Honorable John Boehner
Chairman, Committee on Education and the Workforce
U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515

Via fax 202-225-3277
The Honorable George Miller
U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515